Logo themagichoroscope.com
Logo themagichoroscope.com
Logo Messenger The Magic Horoscope
Logo Whatsapp

The 14 Types of Horoscope That Exist

Learn how many types of horoscopes there are and their signs

Two celestial bodies and a landscape
The 14 Horoscope types that exist

When we think of the Horoscope, the first thing that comes to mind are names like Aries, Taurus, Virgo, Aquarius or Gemini. However, these belong only to the Western Zodiac, which has a Babylonian origin.

In every part of the world the astrological signs are interpreted in a certain way, and today we are going to review in strict alphabetical order some of the most popular types of Horoscopes throughout the world.

The 14 Horoscope types that exist

We discover what the different types of horoscope that we know today from other cultures are and what certain moments of history do they correspond to.

1. Alchemist Horoscope

The Alchemist Horoscope unifies numerology and astrology, and consists of ten signs associated with elements of the periodic table.  Thus, its signs are silver (1), iron (2), mercury (3), zinc (4), tin (5), lead (6), platinum (7), nickel ( 8), gold (9) and copper (0). You can calculate your horoscope by adding the digits of your date of birth, and the result that you get, which will have two figures, you also add to each other, until there is one single digit. Easy, right?

2. Arabic Horoscope

Just as the Western one, the Arabic Horoscope also has twelve signs, and they all have the names of medieval weapons: Spear, Sling, Ax, Dagger, Club, Mace, Knife, Scimitar, Machete, Chain, Poniard and Arch. Each one has a lucky number associated with it, and then they have a lucky weapon that is associated with the number of inhabitants of the place where we were born.

This type of Horoscope was born a century before the birth of Christ, but it was not until about 900 years later when it was consolidated as it's known today.

3. Aztec Horoscope

Deer, Caiman, House, Flower, Snake, Jaguar, Reed, Rabbit, Eagle, Monkey, Flint or Silex and Dog. These animals, plants and objects associated with sacred symbols are the twelve signs of the Aztec Horoscope, which in turn is a twist of the Mayan Horoscope.

It has the peculiarity that the signs aren't associated to a period of birth, but to a specific day. For example, if you are born on January 1, you are Monkey, if you are born on the 2nd, Flint, and if you come to the world on the 3rd of that month, Dog.

4. Celtic Horoscope

The Celtic Horoscope is the type that has the most signs: a total of 21, all of them with tree names. If you are born under the umbrella of a certain tree, you would obtain its protection and its characteristics.

In a first group we find two trees for the equinoxes, September (Olive) and March (Oak), and two for the solstices of June (Birch) and December (Beech). Then there are the remaining 17 trees: Fir, Poplar, Maple, Hazel, Hornbeam, Chestnut, Cedar, Cypress, Ash, Fig, Apple, Walnut, Elm, Pine, Willow, Rowan and Linden.

5. Chinese Horoscope

The Chinese Horoscope consists of 12 signs, associated with various legends. They have an animal kingdom: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog and pig, and while the western horoscope is based on more or less monthly periods, in the Chinese one your sign is assign to your year of birth.

6. Druid Horoscope

The druids, great magical scientists of the Gallic period had the function of watching over divine things. Their astrology, known as druidic astrology, praises nature and the seasons and therefore has tree names (don't confuse it with the Celtic Horoscope). The Druid Horoscope has 13 signs and are associated with lunar phases. Their names are Birch, Rowan, Ash, Alder, Willow, Hawthorn, Oak, Hazel, Vine, Ivy, Cane and Elder.

7. Egyptian Horoscope

Contrary to our usual Western astrology, Egyptian astrology is based mainly on the deep motivations of each individual and their natural personality, devoid of the traditional Western aspects. The Egyptian horoscope is based on the lunar cycles, related in turn to their different gods: Osiris, Isis, Thot, Anubis, Seth, Horus, Sekhmet, Bastet, Geb, Nout, Amon Ray and Hapi.

8. Gypsy Horoscope

The gypsies are distinguished from other towns by their divinatory arts, being cartomancy and palmistry the most representative ones. And besides this, they have their own horoscope, which differs from others because their signs are represented by objects, assigned to each person according to their date of birth. Cup, Chapel, Dagger, Crown, Candlesticks, Wheel, Star, Bell, Coin, Dagger, Ax and Horseshoe are the twelve signs of the Gypsy horoscope.

9. Hindu Horoscope

Emerged a couple of centuries before the birth of Christ, the Hindu Horoscope has twelve signs, and is cataloged as a siderealist, not zodiacal, horoscope. It's based on the study of the 27 constellations that the Indian astrologers saw in the heavens, and the signs are Kumbha Kethu, Meena Galika, Mesha Angaraka, Vrishaska Surkra, Mithuna Budha Kataka Chandra, Simaha Ravi, Kanta Budha, Thula Sukra, Vrischica Angaraka , Dhanus-Brishaspati and Makara Sani.

10. Indian Horoscope

When we speak of the Indian Horoscope we refer to the Indians from America, not the natives of India. Once again we find a dozen signs, which on this occasion have the name of the animals characteristic of these territories: Snow Goose, Woodpecker, Otter, Sturgeon, Puma, Brown Bear, Hawk, Raven, Beaver, Snake, Stag and Moose.

11. Mayan Horoscope

We said at the beginning that the Aztec Horoscope drank from the Mayan Horoscope, although the Mayan one has one more sign, adding a total of thirteen. Its calendar is divided into 20-day months, and the names of the signs are Tzootz - Bat, Dzec - Scorpion, Keh - Deer, Moan - Owl, Kutz - Peacock, Kibray - Lizard, Batz Kimil - Monkey, Coz - Hawk , Balam - Jaguar, Fex - Dog, Kan - Snake, Tzub - Rabbit and Aak - Turtle.

12. Western Horoscope

The most extended horoscope, which is divided into twelve signs represented by the name that was given to the stars, all of them emerged from mythology. Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces are these signs, which in turn can be divided as signs of Air, Water, Fire and Earth.

13. Orisha Horoscope

In the traditional Cuban religion, Yoruba, there's the Orisha Horoscope, which has a new dozen signs, with names of deities: Ogun, Oko, Elegua, Oshun, Shango, Yemanyá, Obatalá, Orula, Babalú Aye, Agayú Solá, Oshosi and Inle.

These names are related to Cuban Santeria, a religion that syncretizes Christianity and the Yoruba religion, that is, that seeks equivalence between both. Thus, for example, Eleguá is related to San Antonio de Padua, Yemanyá with the Virgin of Regla and Babalú Aye to San Lázaro, to name some examples.

14. Wuykü horoscope

The Wuykü horoscope is the type of horoscope with fewer signs: it only has four, represented by sacred animals for Buddhists. This horoscope goes back about two thousand years before Christ, and emerged in Tibet. Spider, Ant, Scorpion and Turtle are these four signs, and each one represents three months of the year.